Before IPCO commenced operations, three precursor organisations oversaw the use of investigatory powers in the UK: the Interception of Communications Commissioner’s Office (IOCCO); Office of Surveillance Commissioners (OSC); and Intelligence Services Commissioner (ISComm).

All three bodies had a statutory responsibility to report to the Prime Minister.

Have a question?

Send us a message and we will get in touch as soon as possible

Get in touch

Follow us on Twitter to keep up to date with IPCO

Check our FAQs for answers to commonly asked questions

Read our FAQs